Pres. Sirleaf In Abuja To Address African Finance Ministers

User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

MONROVIA, March 29 (LINA) - President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf is in Abuja, Nigeria to participate in the Seventh Joint Annual Meetings of the AU Conference of Ministers of Economy and Finance and ECA Conference of African Ministers of Finance, Planning and Economic Development from March 29 to 30.


According to a dispatch from Abuja, Nigeria, the Liberian leader arrived in Abuja late Friday night from Yamoussoukro, Côte d’Ivoire as Special Guest of Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan.

As Chair of the High Level Committee (HLC) on the Post-2015 Development Agenda, President Sirleaf will address the opening of the Conference on the Common African Position on the Post-2015 Development Agenda, which was adopted at the AU Summit on January 2014.

The theme of this year’s Conference, "Industrialization for Inclusive and Transformative Development in Africa," builds on the recommendations of previous conferences, particularly those of the 2013 Conference, which addressed the theme of Industrialization for an Emerging Africa.

Meanwhile, the 44th Ordinary Summit of ECOWAS Heads of State and Government ends on Saturday, March 29, with the new chairman of the sub-regional organization taking over for a one-year term.

Ghanaian President John Mahama was elected at Friday’s Closed Door Session, after President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf withdrew from the race and pledged support to President Mahama’s candidacy.

The Liberian leader, who chairs several of the regional organization’s institutions, including a sub-regional organization, Mano River Union, decided to support President Mahama and urged her colleagues to follow suit.

As stipulated in the ECOWAS rules, Francophone and Anglophone countries rotate the chairmanship of the organization after every year. 

Côte d’Ivoire, a Francophone country, has served for the last two years, now was the term of an Anglophone country. Sierra Leone, Ghana, Liberia, Gambia, and Nigeria were all eligible.